Wrestlers face nation’s best at national duals

The Colby Community College wrestling team lost all three matches at the 2018 National Wrestling Coaches Association Multi-Divisional National Duals Jan. 4-5 in Fort Wayne, Ind.

Each contest the Trojans took on nationally ranked teams. In the first match Colby ran into the nation's No. 2 squad in Northeastern Oklahoma A&M, falling 54-0. The Trojans lost the second contest of the day 35-15 to Nassau Community College, ranked 15th. The competition did not get easier, as CCC dropped their match with No. 4 Iowa Lakes Community College, 45-3.

The Trojans head to Kearney, Neb. Friday and Saturday to compete in the Midwest Duals.


Northeastern Oklahoma A&M (54), Colby (0)

125: Boo Dryden (NOOK) over Joe Braun (CCC) (TF 16-0 4:40)
133: Cooper Secker (NOOK) over Otis Rollins (CCC) (Dec 3-1)
141: Cody Karstetter (NOOK) over Chris Deters (CCC) (MD 13-5)
149: Kendon Lee (NOOK) over (CCC) (For.)
157: Zeke Rubio (NOOK) over Johnathan Hernandez (CCC) (Fall 3:51)
165: Wyatt Jordan (NOOK) over Austin Many (CCC) (Fall 1:00)
174: Devin Crawl (NOOK) over Jordan Wesley (CCC) (Fall 2:03)
184: Alex Kauffman (NOOK) over (CCC) (For.)
197: Gus Boyd (NOOK) over (CCC) (For.)
285: Brian Andrews (NOOK) over Gabriel Ledesma (CCC) (Fall 1:32) 

Nassau CC (35) Colby (15),

125: Jorge Barreiro (NCC) over Joe Braun (CCC) (Dec 7-1)
133: Otis Rollins (CCC) over Christopher Pereira (NCC) (Dec 4-2)
141: Chris Deters (CCC) over Alex Dilegge (NCC) (Fall 2:13)
149: Christopher Meloni (NCC) over (CCC) (For.)
157: Lucas Pincus (NCC) over Johnathan Hernandez (CCC) (Dec 11-4)
165: Antonio LaRocca (NCC) over Austin Many (CCC) (TF 15-0 6:18)
174: Nicholas Provenzano (NCC) over Jordan Wesley (CCC) (Fall 3:43)
184: Michael Abidin (NCC) over (CCC) (For.)
197: Zachary Knighton-Ward (NCC) over (CCC) (For.)
285: Gabriel Ledesma (CCC) over (NCC) (For.) 

Iowa Lakes CC (45), CCC (3)

125: Hasan Krigger (ILCC) over Joe Braun (CCC) (Dec 7-1)
133: Jordin James (ILCC) over Otis Rollins (CCC) (MD 11-1)
141: Anthony Fisher (ILCC) over Chris Deters (CCC) (Dec 9-4)
149: David Hollingsworth (ILCC) over (CCC) (For.)
157: McCoy Tekautz (ILCC) over Johnathan Hernandez (CCC) (Fall 1:02)
165: Sangobunmi Smith (ILCC) over Austin Many (CCC) (TF 20-1 2:32)
174: Marcus Placide (ILCC) over Jordan Wesley (CCC) (Fall 2:46)
184: Isaiah Cox (ILCC) over (CCC) (For.)
197: Cayelon Barton (ILCC) over (CCC) (For.)
285: Gabriel Ledesma (CCC) over Montana Fuller (ILCC) (Dec 2-1)